Customer Support Available
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST - 7 days a week
Current Date and Time:
Frequently Asked Questions and Answers
Does the My Florida Title™ Lien to Title Service include all state DMV Fees to issue title?
Yes. The fees charged by the tax collector’s DMV office to transfer the certificate of title into your shop’s name is included. You will receive a new title with your shop’s name as the new registered owner. * Price does not include a new tag.
What defines a motor vehicle for Mechanics Title Lien purposes?
Section 320.01(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines motor vehicle as an automobile, motorcycle, truck, trailer, semi trailer, truck tractor and semi trailer combination, or any other vehicle operated on the roads of this state, used to transport persons or property, and propelled by power other than muscular power. The term does not include traction engines, road rollers, special mobile equipment as defined in s. 316.003(48), vehicles that run only upon a track, bicycles, swamp buggies, or mopeds.
- What defines a vehicle for Towing & Storage Title Lien purposes?
- Section 713.78(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines “vehicle” to mean any mobile item whether motorized or not, which is mounted on wheels. This would include off-highway vehicles. ( such as utility trailers, travel trailers, semi-trailers and mobile homes.)
- Section 713.78(1)(b), Florida Statutes, defines “vessel” to mean every description of watercraft, barge, and air boat used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on water, other than a seaplane or a “documented vessel” as defined in section 327.02(8)
- Section 713.785, Florida Statutes, provides for the sale of a mobile home by a mobile home transport company for unpaid recovery, towing and storage charges.
- Section 713.785(1)(a), Florida Statutes, defines “mobile home transport company” as a person regularly engaged in the business of transporting mobile homes.
To file a Vehicle Mechanics Lien, does my shop have to be licensed?
To file a Towing & Storage Lien, does my shop have to be licensed?
For Towing Companies No. We are not required to submit a copy of any type of license. However, you do need to have a legitimate business with a physical address, tax id and proper paperwork such as towing bill/towing sheet listing the details of your charges for towing, recovery, storage, etc.
For Recovery Companies there are strict requirements to protect consumers. See Recovery and Repossession
licensing requirements for more details.
See http://www.myflorida.com/taxonomy/business/ for more details about doing business in Florida. Contact us for assistance with getting your business incorporated or set up.
Is there a certain amount of time required to process a certificate of title?
If sold at a public auction yes. If the application for certificate of title is not made within 30 days of the date of the public sale, a penalty fee of $20.00 is due. Refer to the Schedule of Motor Vehicle, Mobile Home, Off-Highway and Vessel Title and Lien Fees chart for fees, located at: Here
How long does it take to transfer ownership of the certificate of title?
It depends on the type of lien you are filing and the situation. For a Mechanic Lien or “Labor, Service & Storage Lien” The vehicle may be sold at public Auction on the 61st business day. Excluding weekends and holidays.
*Section 713.585, Florida Statutes, provides that a person claiming a lien for performing labor or services on a *motor vehicle, which includes trailers and semi-trailers, may enforce such lien by sale of the motor vehicle at public sale in the event the motor vehicle remains unclaimed for a period of 60 days after the completion of the repair work. The 60-day period does not include the date the work was completed or the date of the public sale. This provision of law does not apply to mobile homes, travel trailers or trailer coaches without independent motorized power.
- If the vehicle doesn’t sell, we will have the title transferred into your shop’s business name instead.
- If you have had the vehicle in your possession for over 60 days before the lien is filed, then we can usually complete the process in 30 business days. (excluding weekends and holidays.)
- For a Towing & Storage Lien – it depends on the age of the motor vehicle. We can usually complete the process after 35 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is more than 3 years of age or after 50 days if the motor vehicle or vessel is 3 years of age or less.
- For a Warehousman’s Lien AND/OR a Storage Facility – We can usually complete the process in approximately 35 days (excluding weekends and federal holidays)
- For a Florida Motor Vehicle Landlord Tenant Act Lien – we can usually complete the process in approximately 35 days.
If you do not see the answer to your question feel free to contact us toll free 888.969.4381 and we will be happy to assist you!